Challenges Committee

The committee is responsible for overseeing the rules, conditions, and programmes of all UFBA Challenges and meet on an annual basis with the following key personnel: 

Alan Kittelty

Alan Kittelty

Current Chairperson

Currently the Chief Fire Officer of the Darfield Volunteer Fire Brigade, Alan was elected to the UFBA Board as a Director in 2012 and served until 2014. He was elected UFBA Vice President in 2015 and was then President from 2016-2017. Alan served on the Canterbury Provincial Fire Brigades' Association Executive from 2006-2012 and became President in 2010. Alan has been a long-standing participant across the entire suite of challenges managed by the UFBA. In 2013 at the UFBA National Waterway Challenge in Cromwell, he received his UFBA National Challenge Medal. Alan continues to be an active competitor in the Waterway and Firefighter Combat Challenges and officiates at other challenges.

Revised UFBA Constitution – check it out!

Click here to view the information and documentation on the proposed UFBA Constitution to be voted on in November at the AGM.


For information about Tranche 2, 2b and 3 consultation click here


We welcome your feedback on all our services. Click here.

Psychological Wellbeing

support for brigades click here


here ×